Momma Learn with Me

Hugs, Kisses and the ABC's

Shaving Cream Art

1 Comment

I’ve been wanting to do this for the longest time. But, I always forget to buy shaving cream at The Dollar Store. This time I just went ahead and spent the whole $2.00 at the grocery store. The materials are simple: shaving cream, food coloring, craft sticks and paper (I used watercolor paper).

It all happened fast so I wasn’t able to get pictures of all the steps but it’s easy. I started by having kids spray shaving cream into a pan/tray with sides. Then, I let them each select two colors and I added a few drops of their selected colors of food coloring around the shaving cream.

Now to the fun! The boys used their craft sticks to swirl around the color in the shaving cream. (I plan to do again with washable liquid watercolors and let them use hands – total sensory experience!!)

DSC_0570

DSC_0568

DSC_0573

Once it was good and swirled the took their paper and pressed it onto the shaving cream and the pulled up. The boys “ooh-ed” and “ahh-ed” over how pretty they looked already.

DSC_0581DSC_0578

We set them aside for about 5-10 minutes and then used our craft sticks to scrape off the shaving cream and reveal out beautiful art! I can’t wait to get these beauties hung!!

DSC_0587DSC_0589DSC_0585DSC_0584.jpg

Author: Alyssa

I am married to my best friend and am the Mommy to adorable little boys. After living on the East Coast my entire life (from New Jersey to North Carolina) in 2011 we took a leap of faith and moved to Austin. I love all things crafty and am having an amazing time playing, learning, laughing and loving with my boys.

One thought on “Shaving Cream Art

  1. Love this! Have you tried mixing shaving cream and Elmer’s glue? It makes the most amazing puffy paint. We love to create with that, too! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment